Professor Krzysztof Sacha

Topics of research for students:

Time Crystals

Research of quantum time crystals was initiated by the Nobel-prize-winning, Frank Wilczek in 2012.The original idea of quantum time crystals proposed by Wilczek turned out to be not correct but in 2015 we showed that discrete time crystals could exist and the experimental and theoretical research of these new phenomena began. Time crystals are a new concept in physics and students have a unique opportunity to participate in the formation of the new research area. I recommend reading of a popular article on time crystals published in Physics World.

See a book on "Time Crystals"
and lecture series on "TIME CRYSTALS" - YouTube.

Theoretical research of ultra-cold atoms

Ultra-cold atomic gases offer possibilities for realizations of complex mathematical models used in different fields of physics with an unprecedented level of the experimental control. For example: condensed matter phenomena (like superconducting/superfluid state, Mott insulator and Bose-glass phases, Anderson localization or time crystals), abelian and non-abelian field theory, quantum simulators or even cosmological effects can be realized experimentally. Many different ideas that come into students mind can be investigated in ultra-cold atomic gases.
Details of the research plan will be decided after discussion with students but I strongly encourage young people to invent their own proposals. The research will rely on analytical calculations or on numerical programing.

Pupils (PhD students):

Dr Bartlomiej Oles (2009)
Dr Katarzyna Targonska (2013)
Dr Marcin Plodzien (2014)
Dr Malgorzata Mochol (2016)
Dr Arkadiusz Kosior (2016) - fellowship Sart FNP
Dr Andrzej Syrwid (2019) - fellowship Start FNP
Dr Krzysztof Giergiel (2022 r.) - fellowship Start FNP; Polish Physical Society award for the best PhD dissertation in 2022; The Frank Wilczk Prize.
Ms Weronika Golletz
Mr Ali Emami Kopaei
Mr Karthik Eswaran


Dr Arkadiusz Kuroś (2018-2021)
Dr Chu-hui Fan (2020-2022)
Dr Xuedong Tian (2021-2023)
Dr Majid Yazdani-Kachoei (2023-)
Dr Damian Włodzyński (2023-)